Parish Council Meeting Notes – Nov 2018

What’s Going On at the Parish Council?

Highlights from the Hanley Castle PC Meeting held 15 November 2018

Keeping you, our parishioners, informed about our activities is an important responsibility of the Parish Council (PC). This is a summary; detailed minutes can be accessed on-line at The Hanleys web site or

This meeting was attended by District Councillors Andrea Morgan and Mike Morgan.

Superfast Broadband

The roll out of superfast broadband has not benefited the entire parish with significant areas still served by very poor speeds. A group of parishioners are liaising with Open Reach to provide fibre optic services to premises within these poorly served areas. Some funding is available via the Gigabit scheme which can be £3,000 per business or £500 per individual. If you or your business are interested in this potential group scheme contact Sara Beadon on .


The council has agreed to purchase a defibrillator for the old telephone box at Cross Hands and will pay the annual maintenance charges for this and one other defibrillator.

Neighbourhood Plan

Voting cards are being delivered.


  • The new solar VAS has been ordered.
  • Highways are now querying the additional white gates to be positioned by the 30mph sign.
  • We are still pressing Highways to repaint ‘dragons teeth’ on the approach to Hanley Swan from Welland.

District Councillors

  • The major housing development at Newland is coming before the MHDC planning committee.

Other Items

  • The council are looking at providing additional litter bins at Church End, Welland Road and on the playing field.

Parish Council

Following the resignation of Councillor Lamb there is now a vacancy on the Parish Council. If you feel you have something to offer the community please contact any other council member or the Parish Clerk.

The next parish council meeting will be on 17 January 2019 at 7pm in the Village Hall small meeting room. Parishioners are most welcome to attend.

Your Parish Councillors are: Sue Roberts (chairman); John Taverner (vice chairman); Sue Adeney; Allison Bolton; Sarah Darwent;  Wendy Roberts-Powell and Alex Walker.

CONTACT US via Rebecca Abunassar, the Parish Clerk, on 01684 292115 or

Bob Lamb on behalf of the Parish Council